Join us from 9am at Newbury RFC this Saturday 1st June

Ireland lock Paul O’Connell will captain the British and Irish Lions in Saturday’s tour opener against the Barbarians at Hong Kong Stadium.

O’Connell, Lions skipper in South Africa in 2009, takes over from flanker Sam Warburton, who has a knee injury.

Lions team: Stuart Hogg (Scotland), Alex Cuthbert (Wales), Jonathan Davies (Wales), Jamie Roberts (Wales), Sean Maitland (Scotland); Owen Farrell (England), Mike Phillips (Wales); Mako Vunipola (England), Richard Hibbard (Wales), Adam Jones (Wales), Richie Gray (Scotland), Paul O’Connell (Ireland), Dan Lydiate (Wales), Justin Tipuric (Wales), Toby Faletau (Wales).

Replacements: Tom Youngs (England), Cian Healy (Ireland), Matt Stevens (England), Alun Wyn Jones (Wales), Jamie Heaslip (Ireland), Conor Murray (Ireland), Jonathan Sexton (Ireland), George North (Wales).